If you want a “perfect pagan”, look elsewhere

HONESTY HOUR!

I am, apparently, a “horrible pagan”, according to some elitist douchebags on the internets.

I don’t do rituals. I don’t make physical sacrifices. I don’t have a full library of “lore”. I don’t practice magic, attend coven-ish soirees, or have the ability to instantly recall verses of ancient poems off the top of my head.

I am a “lazy pagan”.

Apparently.

Here’s the thing. I’m not lazy. Lilith is my goddess, and as far as I know, there aren’t any defined rituals for her. So I discovered my own by talking to her over many years. And I know for a fact that I am not too lazy for her, and that is all that matters to me. Her criticism and hers alone has bearing on what I do. For instance, when she told me to drop the name of Vanafridr, I did so immediately. When  other people, pagans no less, told me to stop worshiping her, my response was a very kindly worded “fuck you”. I move for no man. That’s the way it is.

For me, my loyalty to Lilith is my highest loyalty, above that to my kin and country, even.

How is that not a perfect pagan?

So what if I don’t do the rituals or cast spells or chant funny words over crystals? So what if I don’t go quoting ancient poetry or abide by ancient laws of morality that have been passed down on a stone since ages immemorial?

I do my best to respect everyone else’s beliefs and practices, no matter how silly I may think they are. But when you compare me to yourself and then say I am not a “good pagan” or even a horrible one, I’m sure you’ll forgive me for wanting to punch your lights out.

Before you judge me, check yourself first and see if you really are so perfect.

I talk with my Goddess, and I learn from and love her dearest of all, and I strive to live by her example and heed Her will.

There is no faith more perfect than that.

Surely we can all agree on that.

Leave a Reply

